compton awards
Denis Compton and Neil Burns at the Awards Scheme launch at Lord's

Neil Burns met Denis Compton in 1996when playing for Sir Paul Getty's X1.

The great man expressed keen interest in Neil's idea for a structured programme for the development of young (England qualified) players down in South Africa during the English winter.

The Company decided to sponsor an Award for "The Most Promising Young Player" at each of the 18 First Class Counties. It was to be known as  "The NBC Denis Compton Award". The project had received approval from the then Test & County Cricket Board and the late Lord Cowdrey.
Christopher Martin-Jenkins receives the The Compton Scholar award, on behalf of Adil Rashid, from Christine Compton, Lord's October 2008

If those chosen by a distinguished Panel were still considered  outstanding, they received the accolade for more than one year.

Details of previous winners can be seen on Cricinfo's website. They make interesting reading.

In conjunction with the Brian Johnston Memorial Trust, the Company announced the winners at its black-tie Dinner in The Long Room in October each year. From those named, a "Compton Scholar" was named to travel to South Africa. Well known names included were Matt Prior (Sussex & England), Alastair Cook (Essex & England), Nick Compton (Middlesex, Somerset & England), Adil Rashid (Yorkshire & England) and Billy Godleman (Middlesex, Essex & Derbyshire).

As the Counties began to develop "Academies" they preferred to name their own Young Player of the Year.

As a result, NBC discontinued  its Sponsorship in 2012.









website : beachshore